4 Ways I Stay Motivated | Brain Füd

By Serena Reidy 

As a student it can be hard to keep yourself motivated. I remember that it was often difficult for me to find the energy to work on all my assignments while I was at university, especially when I had to apply for jobs and have a social life at the same time. It was a constant cycle of feeling stressed, tired and under pressure. However, I knew that I wasn’t the only one who felt that way, and in order to get the best grades I had to pull myself together and continue to work hard. Here are some of the things that kept me motivated during my time at university:

Setting goals for myself

I found that setting goals at the beginning of each term was useful since it gave me something to work towards. As a result, I was less willing to give up since I wanted to achieve things. This was particularly useful when I was in my final year and had to write my dissertation. I set myself mini deadlines so that I wouldn’t end up rushing it at the last minute.

Wanting to make my parents proud

While staying motivated should be something you want for yourself, other people can also encourage you to do well. I was fortunate enough to have parents that supported me through university and encouraged me to do well. I didn’t want to let them down.

Taking a break

One of the best ways to keep yourself motivated is to set yourself some ‘me’ time. During university, I would go for walk, hang out with friends, watch Netflix or join societies if I didn’t feel like working. This took my mind of my work for a bit and made me feel more relaxed. It also gave me plenty of inspiration and improved my concentration.

Remembering why I started university

There is a reason why I wanted to go to university, and I kept that in mind whenever I was working on assignments. Thinking back to the excitement of receiving your university offers and meeting new people in Freshers Week reminded me that university isn’t just work; there are some fun parts too.

How do you stay motivated? 💥

Serena Reidy is a freelance writer and blogger from London who loves travelling, singing and trying new food.
You can find her over on her blog at www.ramblingsofanotherunigraduate.com and on Twitter here.

Leave a Reply

